Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

The Umpire Corner

Coaches interference?

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by mlavmd » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:35 pm

I am a pretty mild mannered coach but nearly got tossed from a game last week as I could not have disagreed more with an umpire's call and I was wondering if it makes sense to anyone:
I had runners at 2nd and 3rd and I was the 3B coach. My batter hit a ball deep into the RCF gap, easily scoring the 2 runners. The ball is thrown in to 3B. My runner who is standing on 3B sees the ball dribble past the girl playing 3B and takes a few steps off the base toward home with no intention of going home. The girl who is playing 3B brushes my shoulder in the coaches box as I tried to avoid her but she was coming right at me and I could not fully get out of her way. However the play was over, the runners had scored long ago and my batter/runner is safely back at 3B. Umpires were ready to continue play but opposing coach calls time out and talks to umpires. Home plate umpire says he saw nothing. Somehow the base umpire although he was not going to call anything now calls interference on me and takes a run off the board, gives me an out, and moves my batter/runner back to 2B. Maybe I just don't understand the rules but this really made no sense to me. Of course we ended up losing this Semi-final game by one run!. I would love some opinions on this ruling!
Thanks
mlavmd
Premium Member
Premium Member

by as the world turns » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:51 pm

Field umpire was drunk....no other explaination
“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” John Wayne
as the world turns

by Comp » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:24 pm