Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

The Umpire Corner

Checked Swing

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by crashsdaddy » Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:45 am

Had a situation where an opposing team batter checked her swing. PU called it a ball. Our catcher asked for help. The PU refused. Our coach asked him why he was not asking the other ump for assistance and his reason was that that unless the field ump was on the first base line, he was not in a position to see. There was a runner on first so the field ump was setup between first and second.

Based on the PU's logic, unless there are no runners on base, the PU would never as for help on a checked swing.

My assumption is that the PU doesn't have to ask for help if he chooses not to but I've never seen this actually happen. Is my assumption correct?

Sorry for the seemingly simple question. I'm a first time assistant coach this year and I've yet to get my hands on an ASA rulebook. :oops: Anyone know where I could download a PDF version? :)
crashsdaddy

by MTR » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:10 am

crashsdaddy wrote:Had a situation where an opposing team batter checked her swing. PU called it a ball. Our catcher asked for help. The PU refused. Our coach asked him why he was not asking the other ump for assistance and his reason was that that unless the field ump was on the first base line, he was not in a position to see. There was a runner on first so the field ump was setup between first and second.

Based on the PU's logic, unless there are no runners on base, the PU would never as for help on a checked swing.

My assumption is that the PU doesn't have to ask for help if he chooses not to but I've never seen this actually happen. Is my assumption correct?

Sorry for the seemingly simple question. I'm a first time assistant coach this year and I've yet to get my hands on an ASA rulebook. :oops: Anyone know where I could download a PDF version? :)