Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible
 

The Umpire Corner

interference

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by mr softball » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:12 pm

this happened in a game force out at 2nd and runner keeps running throw back to 1st to get runner and throw gets there late and umpire calls double play stating that the runner going to 2nd must slide there was no contact at all with fielder or ball but he was saying it is a mandatory slide rule or it is interference. How say you on this one
mr softball
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:35 am

by mr softball » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:32 pm

this was for high school play
mr softball
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:35 am

by PDad » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:20 pm

This falls under interference by a retired player. They can't just go poof and disappear after being called out, so they're usually okay as long as they continue like a runner to the base and don't do anything else to interfere. Sliding into the base is not required, however it generally prevents a call and/or getting hit by the throw to 1B.

Hard to say whether the call was correct without seeing what the runner and fielder did.
User avatar
PDad
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 4:52 pm

by Hurricane » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:38 pm

mr softball wrote:this happened in a game force out at 2nd and runner keeps running throw back to 1st to get runner and throw gets there late and umpire calls double play stating that the runner going to 2nd must slide there was no contact at all with fielder or ball but he was saying it is a mandatory slide rule or it is interference. How say you on this one


Just curious....but....does your keyboard have a "period" symbol (.)

or for that matter, any punctuation symbols? :mrgreen:
Hurricane
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:37 pm


Return to The Umpire Corner