Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible
 

The Umpire Corner

Runner hit by batted ball

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by playball13 » Thu Aug 06, 2015 7:05 am

No outs. Runners at 1st and 2nd.

Double play ball hit to F6. Ball hits R1 and bounces in air to F6 who tosses to F4 to F3 for double play.

Dead ball when R1 is hit by batted and R1 is out.

If in umpires judgement the interference prevented a double play, can they award another out?
Does it matter if the umpires judge it to be intentional or not?

Who is out? R2 or BR
If BR does R2 go to 2nd base?
playball13
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:56 am

by UmpSteve » Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:30 am

playball13 wrote:No outs. Runners at 1st and 2nd.

Double play ball hit to F6. Ball hits R1 STOP!! Nothing else happened!!and bounces in air to F6 who tosses to F4 to F3 for double play. No, it didn't, because ......

Dead ball when R1 is hit by batted and R1 is out.

If in umpires judgement the interference prevented a double play, can they award another out? Only by making up a rule; two outs can only happen if interference is by an already retired runner.
Does it matter if the umpires judge it to be intentional or not? No; the only thing that could happen if judged intentional would be a warning or an ejection for an unsporting act.

Who is out? R2 or BR In most all cases of interference, the person that interferes is out; other runners advance only if forced.
If BR does R2 go to 2nd base? Moot point; BR is awarded first and scored a fielder's choice.
User avatar
UmpSteve
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:38 am

by B34R DOWN » Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:56 am

Ump Steve,

So let me get this right... Once R1 is hit it's a Dead Ball and R1 is out? So then R2 would go to 2nd and BR goes to 1st?

Just trying to clarify...

What if same scenario BUT R2 is hit on the way to 2nd? does R1 stay at 2nd base since she probably hasn't reached 3rd yet?
B34R DOWN
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:54 am

by UmpSteve » Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:19 am

B34R DOWN wrote:Ump Steve,

So let me get this right... Once R1 is hit it's a Dead Ball and R1 is out? So then R2 would go to 2nd and BR goes to 1st? Correct.

Just trying to clarify...

What if same scenario BUT R2 is hit on the way to 2nd? does R1 stay at 2nd base since she probably hasn't reached 3rd yet?Also correct; must have reached and touched the next base prior to the moment of interference/ball contact to keep 3rd.
User avatar
UmpSteve
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:38 am

by B34R DOWN » Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:22 am

Thanks!

Image
B34R DOWN
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:54 am

by UmpSteve » Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:27 am

Reconsidering my earlier post; on review, I misstated part of the rule.

If the umpire judges an obvious intent to break up a double play (hard to do on contact with a batted ball compared to contacting the fielder, but possible), the immediately succeeding runner is also out, can be a double play.

In the original post, if R2 interferes with obvious intent to break up a double play, then R1 is also out. If R1 interferes in the same manner, R2 returns to 2nd and BR is out.
User avatar
UmpSteve
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:38 am


Return to The Umpire Corner