Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible
 

The Umpire Corner

3rd out, does run count?

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by richdg2003 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:14 am

This play happened in 10u rec ball. I have heard three different explanations to should have happened.
Bases loaded 2 outs. Batter hits ball to F5. F5 tags runner going from 2nd to 3rd. The runner that was on 3rd crosses home plate before tag was made.
The original call made on the field was that the run does count because F5 tagged the runner and not the base. And the runner on 3rd crossed home plate before the tag was made.
(Even though there was a force out at 3rd)
The umpire claimed after the game he had made a mistake. However another umpire confirmed that the call on the field was the correct one. Can someone please help me with this? Thanks
richdg2003
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:42 am

by Comp » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:37 am

Run does not count. If runner was being forced to next base and was tagged prior to reaching that base it is considered the same as a forced out.
Comp
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:27 am

by shockcoach » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:58 pm

This is not a timing play. No run scored.
shockcoach
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:32 am

by Volman » Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:59 am

Same play happened to me in a HS game last week. The run did not count. As stated above it is not a timing play. The force is on whether runner tagged or bag tagged.
Volman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:26 am

by richdg2003 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:20 pm

Thanks, that is what came to my mind at first. I had three umpires tell me differenent opinions.

Thanks again.
richdg2003
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:42 am

by pbj2000 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:05 am

No run...due to force out
Peanut Butter and Jelly baby
User avatar
pbj2000
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:23 am
Location: the dirt


Return to The Umpire Corner