Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

Fastpitch Discussions

Recruiting Videos...What's The Deal?

What's on your mind?

by Els489 » Thu May 10, 2018 4:56 pm

Is it me or do most recruiting videos all seem the same? Well produced, but only show edited plays/hits. Pitching from coaches, therefore not real game situations with real pitchers and slow ground balls to the fielders.

What are college coaches really looking for, because these videos all make the players seem pretty decent.

Am I missing something? If I was a coach I would rather see less edited real game video.

Please educate me!
Els489
Premium Member
Premium Member

by PairOfAces » Thu May 10, 2018 8:21 pm

Game footage of the same quality as a recruiting video is probably pretty hard to come by. I think what you can see on the professional videos is form and technique and mechanics. Shows the potential coach what they have to work with.
PairOfAces
Premium Member
Premium Member

by Marriard » Thu May 10, 2018 9:09 pm

There are lots of terrible, terrible videos out there. So they are not all the same - and even some of the professionally produced ones are total garbage because they often use the same template for everyone (though sometimes they are works of art - just not works of softball). For coaches they can be invaluable even if the look similar.